There are essentially five different ways of resetting your NAS. We’re going to take a look at these and learn how to execute them and also learn what exactly will they do to your configuration and data. These 5 methods can be divided into two others - reset button (hardware reset) and via the user interface (software reset).
Hardware reset by the physical reset button located on the back of the unit
1. Three second press and hold of the reset button: Your data will not be deleted, but the following settings will be reset:
- Password for the admin account
- TCP/IP configuration: Obtain IP address settings automatically via DHCP.
- TCP/IP configuration: Disable Jumbo Frame.
- TCP/IP configuration: If port trunking is enabled (dual LAN models only), the port trunking mode will be reset to “Active Backup (Failover)”.
- System port: 8080 (system service port).
- Security level: Low (Allow all connections).
- VLAN will be disabled
- Service binding: All NAS services run on all available network interfaces.
2. Ten second press and hold of the reset button: In this case all settings including users and groups as well as shared folders will be removed. Your data on the drives will not be deleted. To retrieve the old data after advanced system reset you need to create the same network shares on the NAS and the data will be accessible again
Software resets executed from the QTS interface (web browser)
To locate these options, open Control Panel > Backup / Restore > Restore to Factory Default
1. Restore Factory Defaults & Format All Volumes: This will reset the system settings to its defaults and it will also format all of the volumes currently in the unit.
2. Reset Settings: Comparable to the 10 second button press mentioned in the Hardware resets section earlier. No data will be deleted.
3. Reinitialize NAS: All data will be deleted and the NAS will have to be reinitialized.