QNAP Systems, Inc. - Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Language

Support

How can I control file versions for files in the Qsync folder as Dropbox does?

Version Control

The version control will keep one copy of a file as a version whenever you add or modify it, allowing you to retrieve a specific previous version at any time. Or if you accidently save a file and override the previous version made by other people while editing the file in team folder, you can still restore the previous version. And you can restore the previous versions even if you have deleted the file from the recycle bin.

View the version history

You can view the version history by using the File Station. Inside the File Station, right click on a file or folder in the Qsync folder and select “Previous Versions”. Or you can access it from menu bar, “More Action Previous Versions”. Or just click the “Show Right Panelversion” to show the version list.



You can also access it from the Qsync client utility. Right click on a file of folder in the Qsync folder and select “ View previous versions”.

Restore the previous versions

In the version history page, select the version you want to restore and click “Restore” to restore version to the original file path or other location.
Click “Download” to download the version to the local computer.
Click “Delete All” to delete all of the listed versions.
Click “Refresh” to update the status of the version history.

Restore the version of a deleted file

The version control keeps the version in a separate location, so even you delete the file, you can still restore the previous versions of the file, even the file has been deleted from the recycle bin.

To restore the version of a deleted file, click any folder or file in the Qsync folder, and then click “More ActionShow Deleted Files” in the menu bar.

To view the version history, right click on a file or folder in Qsync folder and select “Previous Versions”. Or you can access it from the menu bar, “More Action Previous Versions”. Or just click the “Show Right Panelversion” to show the version list.

Restore the previous versions

In the version history page, select the version you want to restore and click “Restore” to restore the version to the original file path or other location.
Click “Download” to download the version to the local computer.
Click “Delete All” to delete all of the listed versions.
Click “Refresh” to update the status of the version history.

Please note:
If you click “Delete All” to delete all the listed versions, then click “Refresh” button, the associated files will be removed from the file list.

To exit the view of the deleted file list, right click any file or folder and select “Hide Deleted Files”. Or access it from menu bar, “More Action Hide Deleted Files”.

The management and settings of version control

To access the management and settings of version control, click the Qsync button on the desktop of the NAS, then click “Version Control” in the right side menu

The target folder

The “Enable version control” is the main switch of the version control. Unchecking this option it will disable the function, so no users can use it including the administrator, but the action will not delete the existing versions that have been created.

“Enable version for my Qsync folder” allows each user to apply the function for their own files.

Target folder for version control

You can apply the version control to the files under specific Qsync folders to save space.

To assign specific folders, select “Assign specific subfolder under the Qsync folder”, then click “Add” to add folders. You can add 5 folders at most.

Click “Delete” to remove all versions under the selected folders and subfolders. This will not take effect until you click “Apply” or “Apply All”.

Advanced

Maximum Number of Versions
You can choose how many versions you want to keep for your files. This is a control only for administrators.

The more versions you keep the more storage space it will take up. To know how much space has been used for version control, click the “Check” button in the section of “Disk Used for Version Control”.

Please note:
If you reduce the maximum number of versions, it will impact the versions that have been created and if the volume of versions exceeds the new settings, the earlier versions will be dropped. Only the equivalent number of latest versions as of the new settings will be kept.

The deletion will not take effect immediately until you click “Apply” or “Apply All”.

Release date: 2014-05-29
Was it helpful?
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you for your feedback. If you have any question, please contact support@qnap.com
55% of people think it helps.