[Important Security Notice] Fake Qfinder Pro Websites Detected. Learn more >

What happens when a file (object) is deleted from myQNAPcloud Storage?


Last modified date: 2024-01-11

Applicable Products

 myQNAPcloud Storage


Explanation

Important
Once a file, folder, space, or account is deleted from myQNAPcloud Portal or File Station via HybridMount, it is NOT possible for QNAP Tech Support to recover the deleted content. 

When a file (also known as an "object" in the case of an object storage service like myQNAPcloud Storage) is deleted, the disk space previously occupied by the deleted file is reallocated for storing other files. File (object) deletions can occur when you delete an individual file or when you delete a parent folder, space, or account. 

When a file is deleted from myQNAPcloud Storage, the following actions take place: 

  1. The file is marked as "object deleted" (The file is no longer accessible).
  2. The metadata of the deleted file is deleted from the myQNAPcloud Storage database.
  3. The space previously occupied on the disk is securely overwritten in a process known as "compaction".  Once the secure compaction process is completed, the disk space is again available for other files.



Was this article helpful?

50% of people think it helps.
Thank you for your feedback.

For further assistance, ask other users and QNAP experts in the community. Go to QNAP Community

Please tell us how this article can be improved:

If you want to provide additional feedback, please include it below.

Choose specification

      Show more Less
      Choose Your Country or Region
      Chat with us! Chat with us!
      back to top