Why do deleted source files still appear in the destination in HBS backup jobs?
Applicable Products
Hybrid Backup Sync
Symptom
In Hybrid Backup Sync (HBS), after running a backup job, if you delete a file or folder in the source and then run the job again, that file or folder still appears in the destination.
Cause
The purpose of a backup job is to retain a copy of all files and folders that ever existed in the source, so that you can recover any data later in case that data is mistakenly or accidentally removed. For this reason, the default backup job behavior is to never delete any backed-up files or folders at the destination.
Solutions
If you want deleted files and folders in the source to also be deleted in the destination, there are two solutions:
- Enable Remove additional files in destination folder in the backup job.
For details, see instructions below. - Create a sync job instead.
For details, see "Sync jobs" in Hybrid Backup Sync.
To enable Remove additional files in destination folder in a backup job, follow these steps:
- Open HBS 3.
- Go to Backup & Restore.
- Click a backup job.
- Click Edit.
The Edit a Backup Job window opens. - Go to Rules > Policies > Advanced settings.
- Select Remove additional files in destination folder.

- Click Save.
HBS 3 saves the changes.
When you next run the backup job, HBS 3 deletes any files in the destination that does not exist in the source.
For further assistance, ask other users and QNAP experts in the community. Go to QNAP Community